Felton Grove History: Map circa 1906-1911

Proposed map of Felton Grove Subdivison, circa 1906 – 1911

Proposed Felton Grove Subdivision Map ca. 1906-1911

This entry was posted in Felton Grove, Felton Grove History, Maps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Felton Grove History: Map circa 1906-1911

  1. Lawrence says:

    I like these older ideas of keeping the riverside more open to the public. It’s a shame that they didn’t reserve at least one space for neighborhood access to the river.

    Do you know where the “old swimming hole” was located?

    Thanks for the great blog!!!

  2. vickiwees says:

    Hi Lawrence, Glad you’re enjoying the Felton Grove blog! If you go back to the blog and type “Brief History” in the search box, go to page 2 and you can read about the old seasonal damn and swimming hole. It was near where the San Lorenzo River and Zayante Creek meet. There used to be access to that area but many of the lots (and a house) down at that end washed away in floods, so all that’s left is a parking area for the last home. Also, we now know how harmful it is to damn up the rivers. Thanks for your comment!

  3. Joel Hill says:

    Do you know when Graham Hill Rd was first connected to the intersection of Highway 9? I have a 1908 photo of the intersection; in which Graham Hill Road is not visible. Our Docent Supervisor at Henry Cowell Park tells me that Graham Hill Rd. ran from Santa Cruz up to the campground long before it was connected to Highway 9. I’d like to fill in the gaps in the construction timeline. Thank you for your valued public service!

    • Lawrence says:

      You should post the photo so we can see it! Graham Hill Rd is probably the oldest road in these hills. I suspect the ancient Ohlone followed that route to get to the Bay Area. Isaac Graham used it to get from his ranch and mill at Mt Herman back in the mid-1800s.

      Hwy 9 was a toll road built later in the 19th century, probably because Graham Hill Rd was too steep for large wagon loads.

      I reckon it linked with Felton’s Main Street/Hwy 9 aproximately where they join today, except Graham hill road went via the old covered bridge road, not the new bridge.

      • Joel Hill says:

        Lawrence, I sent the photo to Vicki; and she said she already has it. Now my question is becoming clear. I did not know that Graham Hill Rd traffic originally went over the covered bridge (sorry, I grew up in Cupertino in the 1950s, and did not spend much time in this valley until moving here in 2007). What I basically am trying to find out is when the new bridge was built, and when Graham Hill Rd traffic was rerouted over the new bridge. Was there a period when motorists could choose to drive over either the covered bridge, or over the new bridge? I assume that would be when the intersection of Graham Hill Rd/Felton Empire Rd/and Highway 9 assumed its current appearance. If so; approximately when was that? Thank you for your help.

  4. vickiwees says:

    Hi Joel, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog! I will contact a more knowledgeable Felton Historian, Randall Brown, and see if we can get your question answered.

  5. vickiwees says:

    Lawrence, that’s a great idea! Joel, are you willing to email me the photo? I’d love to post it on the blog. vnwees@yahoo.com. Thanks!

  6. vickiwees says:

    Hi Joel, I have 3 blogs. On my feltonhomesandhistory.com blog I posted that photo July 19, 2013. If you click on the category “Railroad” you’ll see it. The “new” bridge on Graham Hill Rd. that crosses the San Lorenzo River that was built to replace the covered bridge was built, I believe in either 1932 or 1937. Somewhere I have a rather poor quality photo of it under construction that I think has the date. I am recovering from a broken collarbone that had complications (“frozen shoulder” so not only am I unable to sit at the computer for long but I’m also on pain pills, so please forgive my poor memory and ability to better communicate. When I am able, I will try to find that photo and the exact date. That’s a good question about the possibility of both bridges being used. I’d like to know that, too.

Leave a Reply

